DE | FR | EN

Nant de Drance: Electricity storage for a stable grid

"Together with Swissgrid, we can provide an invaluable service for Switzerland and Europe to ensure security of supply."
Éric Wuilloud, Director Nant de Drance SA
image/svg+xml

Battery for Switzerland

The Nant de Drance power plant near Finhaut in Valais will be the second-largest pumped storage power plant in Switzerland. Construction started in 2008 and Nant de Drance will be commissioned in 2018. It will help to balance the energy from alternative sources in order to ensure an equilibrium between consumption and production in the Swiss electricity grid.

When electricity consumption is high, the water stored in the Vieux-Emosson reservoir falls through two 425-metre-high vertical shafts into the underground power plant. From there, it is fed through a turbine before being pumped into the Emosson reservoir. Conversely, during periods of low electricity demand, the water is pumped from the Emosson reservoir to the Vieux-Emosson reservoir. The Nant de Drance power plant is therefore able to store energy from excess production.

Nant de Drance in numbers

Energy from Valais

Swissgrid is tasked with transporting electricity from power plants to the major consumption centres. The construction of Nant de Drance, one of Switzerland’s largest pumped storage power plants, also represents a challenge for Swissgrid: it must ensure the transportation of the produced energy volume. To do so, a new 380kV line will be constructed between Nant de Drance and Martigny. The approximately 20-kilometre-long line will also require new switching substations and substations.

Valais as a bottleneck

The Swiss transmission grid already has a number of structural bottlenecks. In particular, in Valais, the lines between St. Triphon and Riddes as well as between Chamoson and Chippis are extremely stressed. The Valais grid construction projects are essential to connect the Valais hydroelectric power to the Swiss 380kV grid and thus transport the energy across Switzerland.

A total of 130 km of lines will be constructed along new routes in Valais. This will significantly improve the situation: it will allow a total of 220 kilometres of line to be dismantled. Numerous lines, such as on the plateau of Salvan, will disappear entirely.

Flyer on the grid construction projects in Valais

Download the flyer (German)

Well-prepared for the energy future

At the end of April, Swissgrid presented the report on the Strategic Grid 2025. It shows the grid construction projects that Swissgrid believes will be necessary in the next ten years in order to ensure security of supply and prepare the grid for the energy future.

The investments required in the coming ten years will amount to about CHF 2.5 billion. This is significantly less than previously estimated. CHF 1 billion relates to the replacement and maintenance of existing infrastructure and CHF 1.5 billion is for expansions and new constructions.

More information on the Strategic Grid 2025

DE | FR | EN

Nant de Drance: Stromspeicher für ein stabiles Netz

«Gemeinsam mit Swissgrid können wir der Schweiz und Europa für die Versorgungssicherheit einen unbezahlbaren Dienst erweisen.»
Éric Wuilloud, Direktor Nant de Drance SA
image/svg+xml

Batterie für die Schweiz

Das Kraftwerk Nant de Drance bei Finhaut im Wallis wird nach seiner Inverkehrsetzung das zweitstärkste Pumpspeicherkraftwerk der Schweiz sein. 2008 erfolgte der Baustart, 2018 wird Nant de Drance in Betrieb genommen. Es wird dazu beitragen, die Energie aus alternativen Quellen auszugleichen, um im Schweizer Stromnetz ein Gleichgewicht zwischen Verbrauch und Produktion sicherzustellen.

Wenn der Stromverbrauch hoch ist, stürzt das im Stausee Vieux-Emosson gespeicherte Wasser durch zwei 425 m hohe vertikale Schächte in das unterirdische Kraftwerk. Dort wird es turbiniert und anschliessend in den Stausee Emosson geleitet. Umgekehrt wird bei geringerer Stromnachfrage das Wasser aus dem Stausee Emosson in den Stausee Vieux-Emosson hochgepumpt. Das Kraftwerk Nant de Drance ist somit in der Lage, Energie aus Überschussproduktion zu speichern.

Nant de Drance in Zahlen

Energie aus dem Wallis

Die Aufgabe von Swissgrid ist es, den Strom von den Kraftwerken in die grossen Verbrauchszentren zu transportieren. Mit dem Bau von Nant de Drance, einem der grössten Pumpspeicherkraftwerke der Schweiz, ist somit auch Swissgrid gefordert: Sie hat den Abtransport der dort produzierten Energiemenge zu gewährleisten. Dafür wird eine neue 380-kV-Leitung zwischen Nant de Drance und Martigny gebaut. Auf den rund 20 km entstehen ausserdem neue Schaltanlagen und Unterwerke.

Das Wallis als Nadelöhr

Das Schweizer Übertragungsnetz weist schon heute strukturelle Engpässe auf. Im Wallis sind insbesondere die Leitungen zwischen St. Triphon und Riddes sowie zwischen Chamoson und Chippis stark belastet. Für die Anbindung der Walliser Wasserkraft an das Schweizer 380-kV-Netz und damit den Abtransport der Energie in die übrige Schweiz sind die Walliser Netzbauprojekte sehr bedeutend.

Insgesamt 130 Kilometer Leitungen werden im Wallis auf neuen Trassees gebaut. Die Situation verbessert sich dadurch massiv: durch die Erneuerung können rund 220 Kilometer Leitungen rückgebaut werden. Zahlreiche Leitungen wie beispielsweise auf dem Plateau von Salvan werden ganz verschwinden.  

Flyer zu den Netzbauprojekten im Wallis

Fit in die Energiezukunft

Ende April präsentierte Swissgrid den Bericht zum Strategischen Netz 2025. Darin wird gezeigt, welche Netzbauprojekte in den nächsten zehn Jahren aus Sicht von Swissgrid notwendig sind, um die Versorgungssicherheit zu gewährleisten und das Netz für die Energiezukunft fit zu machen.

Die in den nächsten zehn Jahren nötigen Investitionen werden rund 2.5 Mrd. CHF betragen. Das ist deutlich weniger als bisher veranschlagt. 1 Mrd. CHF ist für den Ersatz und die Instandhaltung bestehender Infrastrukturen vorgesehen, 1.5 Mrd. CHF für Aus- und Neubauten.

Mehr Information zum Strategischen Netz 2025