DE | FR | EN

ETH: In the Name of Innovation

"Swissgrid connects us with a good partnership with regard to the future of energy in Switzerland and beyond."
Christian Franck, Director High Voltage Laboratory, ETH Zurich
image/svg+xml

Pioneer in research and technology

ETH Zurich (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich) is one of the world’s leading universities of technology and natural sciences. Countless scientists of international standing have contributed their intellect since the foundation of ETH Zurich in 1855, while 21 of them have won a Nobel Prize.

ETH Zurich in numbers

Joint venture in research: Conductor temperature measurement for the transmission grid

The increasing complexity of the European electricity network and a liberalised electricity market are resulting in rapid changes in the load flow. This dynamic can have serious consequences, including a blackout. Given the essential role played by Switzerland as a transit country for electricity, it is critical that the secure conducting of electricity is optimised continuously.

The maximum current carrying capacity of a line is also determined by the thermal limit of the conductors. In a world-first project, Swissgrid is working together with ETH Zurich, EMPA and meteorological services, using state-of-the-art methods of measurement on the transmission grid line and in the laboratory, to gain important insights into the maximum current carrying capacity and the ageing behaviour of conductors to ensure the security of the grid in the future.

Article on conductor temperature measurement (German)

AC/DC hybrid lines research project

Another joint research project between Swissgrid and ETH Zurich, as part of a project for the Swiss National Science Foundation and in cooperation with additional partners, is investigating the potential of the alternative transmission concept of direct/alternating-current hybrid lines as well as their feasibility in Switzerland, in compliance with all the specific requirements. Hybrid lines would allow existing routes to be used to transport higher transmission capacities without major renovations. This could be a solution for the Swiss transmission grid, which is already reaching its limits.

Articles on the research project

CAS and new Training & Simulation Centre

Innovation is a priority at Swissgrid. We are constantly working on gaining new insights, new methods of operation and technologies across all areas. This also applies for education.

In cooperation with the School of Engineering and Architecture of Fribourg, Swissgrid has developed Switzerland's first certified vocational training course for system operators, the CAS “Electrical energy systems – system operation”. Operators must always make the right decisions in a complex environment, with changing interfaces, technologies and tools, often under time pressure, while keeping an eye on grid security and efficiency and ensuring optimal responses in normal as well as hectic situations. The new course provides optimal preparation for these challenges.

At the same time, Swissgrid is also implementing a nationwide Training & Simulation Centre to train and educate personnel in the control centres of the transmission and distribution grid and in power plants. Realistic computer simulations of the system operation as well as grid faults and grid failures can be implemented with the aid of models and the replication of the Swiss electricity grids. The focus is on practicing situational assessments, fault limitation measures and restoring a secure grid status.

Information on the CAS "Electrical energy systems – system operation" (German)

Flyer on the new Training & Simulation Centre (German)

Optimised algorithm for the procurement of control power

Swissgrid issues tenders every week to procure control power for secure grid operation. The surcharges are granted using an algorithm, which determines the costs/quantity and quality. In 2015, Swissgrid was able to optimise this algorithm so that the results are now available within one to two minutes instead of 40 minutes. The time gained gives Swissgrid more latitude in case of unexpected events or control processes and, for instance, reduces financial risks.

New solution for frequency measurement

The frequency measurement values are important for balancing the Swiss control area and for monitoring the grid frequency. This information can be used to ensure a consistently high level of control quality in Switzerland. The operator in the grid control room can also promptly detect at-risk or disrupted circumstances and act accordingly. In 2015, Swissgrid commissioned a prototype for high-precision frequency measurement: frequency is not only measured in the control centre in Laufenburg, but in five other substations across all regions of Switzerland. This increases robustness and redundancy, as adequate measurements for subsequent grid restoration are now also available in the event of a grid breakdown in isolated grids.

DE | FR | EN

ETH: Im Namen der Innovation

«Mit Swissgrid verbindet uns eine gute Partnerschaft im Hinblick auf die Zukunft der Energie in der Schweiz und darüber hinaus.»
Prof. Dr. Christian Franck, Direktor High Voltage Laboratory, ETH Zürich
image/svg+xml

Vorreiterin in Forschung und Technik

Die ETH Zürich (Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich) ist eine der weltweit führenden technisch-naturwissenschaftlichen Hochschulen. Unzählige Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler von internationalem Format haben seit der Gründung der ETH Zürich 1855 ihr gedankliches Gut in die Welt hinaus getragen – und bisher haben 21 davon den Nobelpreis gewonnen.

ETH Zürich in Zahlen

Joint Venture in der Forschung: Leiterseiltemperaturmessung für das Übertragungsnetz

Die zunehmende Komplexität des europaweiten Stromverbunds und ein liberalisierter Strommarkt wirken sich in schnellen Wechseln im Lastfluss aus. Diese Dynamik kann schwere Folgen bis zu einem Blackout haben. Weil die Schweiz als Transitland für Strom eine zentrale Rolle spielt, ist stetige Optimierung der Sicherheit der Stromführung unabdingbar.

Die maximale Strombelastbarkeit einer Leitung wird unter anderem durch den thermischen Grenzwert der Leiterseile bestimmt. In einem weltweit einzigartigen Projekt arbeiten Swissgrid, ETH Zürich, EMPA und Meteodienste zusammen, um mit modernsten Messverfahren an der Übertragungsnetzleitung und im Labor wichtige Erkenntnisse über die maximale Stromtragfähigkeit und das Alterungsverhalten von Leiterseilen und somit für ein sicheres Netz der Zukunft zu gewinnen.

Artikel zur Leiterseiltemperaturmessung (PDF)

Forschungsprojekt AC/DC-Hybridleitungen

Ein weiteres gemeinsames Forschungsprojekt von Swissgrid und ETH Zürich – im Rahmen eines Nationalfondsprojektes und in Kooperation mit weiteren Partnern – zielt darauf ab, das alternative Übertragungskonzept der Gleichstrom-Wechselstrom-Hybridleitungen sowohl bezüglich Potenzial wie auch der Machbarkeit in der Schweiz, unter Einhaltung aller spezifischen Vorschriften, zu untersuchen. Durch Hybridleitungen liessen sich bestehende Trassees ohne grössere Umbauten so nutzen, dass sie höhere Übertragungsleistungen zu transportieren vermögen. Dies könnte eine Lösung für das Schweizer Übertragungsnetz sein, welches bereits jetzt an seine Grenzen stösst.

Beitrag zum Forschungsprojekt

CAS und neues Training & Simulation Center

Innovation wird bei Swissgrid grossgeschrieben. In allen Bereichen wird ständig an neuen Erkenntnissen, Arbeitsweisen und Technologien gearbeitet. Das gilt auch für die Ausbildung.

Swissgrid hat in Zusammenarbeit mit der Hochschule für Technik und Architektur in Fribourg zum ersten Mal in der Schweiz eine zertifizierte Fachausbildung für System-Operateure ausgearbeitet, den CAS «Elektrische Energiesysteme – Systembetrieb». Operateure müssen im komplexen Umfeld sich verändernder Schnittstellen, Technologien und Tools häufig unter Zeitdruck immer die richtigen Entscheidungen treffen, die Netzsicherheit und Wirtschaftlichkeit im Auge behalten und sowohl in normalen als auch in hektischen Situationen optimal reagieren. Die neue Ausbildung bereitet sie optimal auf diese Herausforderungen vor.

Gleichzeitig realisiert Swissgrid ein schweizweites Training & Simulation Center zur Weiterbildung von Personal in Leitstellen des Übertragungs- und der Verteilnetze sowie in Kraftwerken. Mit Hilfe von Modellen und dem Abbild der schweizerischen Stromnetze können realitätsnahe Computersimulationen des Systembetriebs sowie von Netzstörungen und Netzausfällen durchgeführt werden. Das Einüben der Lagebeurteilung, von Massnahmen zur Störungseingrenzung und zur Wiederherstellung des sicheren Netzzustandes steht dabei im Vordergrund. 

Informationen zum CAS Elektrische Energiesysteme – Systembetrieb (PDF)

Flyer zum neuen Training & Simulation Center (PDF)

Optimierter Algorithmus bei der Regelleistungsbeschaffung

Swissgrid beschafft mit Hilfe von Ausschreibungen jede Woche Regelleistung für den sicheren Netzbetrieb. Die Zuschläge werden per Algorithmus erteilt, der Kosten/Menge und Qualität ermittelt. Swissgrid konnte 2015 diesen Algorithmus so optimieren, dass die Ergebnisse heute innerhalb von ein bis zwei anstelle von 40 Minuten zur Verfügung stehen. Dieser Zeitgewinn hilft Swissgrid, bei unerwarteten Ereignissen oder Kontrollprozessen mehr Spielraum zu haben und somit zum Beispiel finanzielle Risiken zu vermindern.

Neue Lösung für die Frequenzmessung

Die Frequenzmesswerte sind wichtig für die Ausregelung der Regelzone Schweiz und für die Überwachung der Netzfrequenz. Anhand dieser Informationen kann die Regelqualität der Schweiz stetig hoch gehalten werden. Zudem kann der Operateur in der Netzleitstelle frühzeitig gefährdete oder gestörte Zustände erkennen und entsprechend handeln. 2015 hat Swissgrid einen Prototypen für die hochpräzise Frequenzmessung in Betrieb genommen: Nicht nur im Kontrollzentrum in Laufenburg, sondern in fünf weiteren Unterwerken in allen Regionen der Schweiz wird die Frequenz gemessen. Dadurch wird eine höhere Robustheit und Redundanz sichergestellt, auch im Falle eines Netzzerfalls in Teilnetze stehen somit genügend Messungen für einen anschliessenden Netzwiederaufbau zur Verfügung.