DE | FR | EN

AET: Cooperation in Ticino and beyond

"Ticino is hugely important for Switzerland – as a portal for transport as well as for electricity. This means that good cooperation with Swissgrid is absolutely critical."
Roberto Pronini, CEO AET
image/svg+xml

Electricity for Ticino

As the distribution grid operator for all of Ticino, Azienda Elettrica Ticinese (AET) is the first point of contact for all electricity matters. AET was founded in 1958. It currently owns, maintains and operates six hydroelectric power plants as well as numerous photovoltaic plants in Ticino.

AET Group in numbers (2014)

Working together in Ticino and beyond

Swissgrid and AET do not just jointly implement grid construction projects in Ticino; AET is also a supplier of ancillary services and works together with Swissgrid as part of operational planning, as a balance group for schedule management, as well as during operations and grid interventions.

Of particular topical relevance is the cooperation between Swissgrid and AET as part of the expansion of the power line between Airolo and Lavorgo from 220kV to 380kV. This expansion to enable the completion of the 380kV grid is of high strategic importance at a national and international level. The new line will supplement the important east-west axis between Chamoson (VS) and Lavorgo, create a transport route for the hydropower generated in the Maggia Valley and increase security of supply in Ticino. The north-south transfer capacity will also be expanded.

Maintenance of the transmission grid

Besides the grid construction projects in Ticino, Swissgrid is also responsible for maintaining the transmission grid in the region. From quality management through to planning, coordination and monitoring the assignment of service providers with the introduction of appropriate safety measures, local teams ensure that power flows now and in the future. To ensure the flexible, efficient and sustainable management of all grid systems, Swissgrid has established various regional support points throughout Switzerland. One of these is located in Ticino and benefits from the good understanding between AET and Swissgrid.

More information on maintenance

Developments in ancillary services

Besides the transmission of energy, Swissgrid also provides additional services that are extremely important for the supply of electricity: these include ancillary services, whose largest cost block is the procurement of control power.

Swissgrid's objective was to reduce the costs of control power. To achieve this, it established a market from which the required control power could be procured. Swissgrid utilised a range of levers to significantly reduce the price of these ancillary services, including adjustments to the product portfolio, opening the market to international participants and introducing control power pools.

More information on ancillary services

DE | FR | EN

AET: Zusammenarbeit im Tessin und darüber hinaus

«Das Tessin ist für die Schweiz enorm wichtig – als Portal für Verkehr, aber auch für Elektrizität. Eine gute Zusammenarbeit mit Swissgrid ist deswegen unabdingbar.»
Roberto Pronini, CEO AET
image/svg+xml

Strom für das Tessin

Die Azienda Elettrica Ticinese (AET) ist als Verteilnetzbetreiber für das gesamte Tessin in Sachen Strom erster Ansprechpartner. Die AET wurde 1958 gegründet. Sie besitzt, unterhält und betreibt heute 6 Wasserkraftwerke und zahlreiche Photovoltaik-Anlagen im Tessin.

AET-Gruppe in Zahlen (2014)

Gemeinsam im Tessin und darüber hinaus

Swissgrid und AET setzen nicht nur Netzbauprojekte im Tessin gemeinsam um. AET ist auch Lieferant von Systemdienstleistungen und arbeitet mit Swissgrid zusammen im Rahmen der Verfügbarkeitsplanung, als Bilanzgruppe beim Fahrplanmanagement sowie im laufenden Betrieb bei Schaltungen und Netzeingriffen.

Besonders aktuell ist die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Swissgrid und AET im Rahmen des Ausbaus der Stromleitung zwischen Airolo und Lavorgo von 220 kV auf 380 kV. Dieser Ausbau ist für die Fertigstellung des 380-kV-Netzes auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene von hoher strategischer Bedeutung. Die neue Leitung wird die wichtige Ost-West-Achse zwischen Chamoson (VS) und Lavorgo ergänzen, einen Transportweg für die im Maggiatal erzeugte Wasserkraft schaffen und die Versorgungssicherheit im Tessin erhöhen. Ausserdem wird die Übertragungskapazität Nord-Süd ausgebaut.

Instandhaltung des Übertragungsnetzes

Neben den Netzbauprojekten im Tessin ist Swissgrid auch für die Instandhaltung des Übertragungsnetzes in der Region verantwortlich. Vom Qualitätsmanagement bis zur Planung, Koordination und Überwachung der Arbeitseinsätze von Dienstleistern mit entsprechenden Sicherheitsmassnahmen sorgen die Teams vor Ort dafür, dass der Strom heute und morgen fliesst. Um alle Netzanlagen flexibel, effizient und nachhaltig bewirtschaften zu können, hat Swissgrid in der gesamten Schweiz verschiedene Regionalstützpunkte aufgebaut. Einer davon befindet sich im Tessin – und profitiert von der guten Verständigung zwischen AET und Swissgrid.

Mehr Informationen zur Instandhaltung

Entwicklungen im Bereich Systemdienstleistungen

Neben der Übertragung von Energie erbringt Swissgrid weitere Dienste, die für die Elektrizitätsversorgung von grosser Bedeutung sind: dazu gehören die Systemdienstleistungen, deren grösster Kostenblock die Beschaffung von Regelleistung ausmacht.

Swissgrid hatte das Ziel, die Kosten für die Regelleistung zu verringern. Dafür hat sie einen Markt geschaffen, auf dem die benötigte Regelenergie bezogen werden kann. Mittels verschiedener Impulse konnte Swissgrid den Preis solcher Systemdienstleistungen massiv senken, unter anderem durch Anpassungen der Produktpalette, durch die Öffnung des Marktes für internationale Teilnehmer sowie durch die Einführung von Regelenergie-Pools.

Mehr Informationen zu Systemdienstleistungen